Toledo Junior Golf Association

Paul Hahn Boy's Sportsmanship Award

Each year the invitees to the Toledo Junior Invitational select the player from their fellow competitors who throughout the year has best displayed the qualities of a great sportsman.

This award bears the name of our friend Paul Hahn, who was a tremendous help to the T.J.G.A. in our early years.

The game' s top vaudeville star, who was a native of Charleston, South Carolina, abandoned early aspirations to play tournament golf when he discovered a latent talent for trick shot artistry. Gifted with a quick wit, a warm personality and a glib tongue, Hahn hit the barnstorming trail in 1949 and launched a career which carried him around the world with performances at the British Open, The Masters and numerous PGA championships. In 1970 he and his son Jimmy, also a talented trick shot artist, made a global circuit in Paul's personal plane.

In 1969, Paul received the coveted Horton Smith Award in recognition of his many contributions to the PGA education program. He was scheduled to receive the Ben Hogan award in 1976 at the Metropolitan Golf Writer's Dinner during the Westchester Classic when he passed away on March 3, 1976 at the age of 57. We are very proud of the contribution he made to golf and to our own organization but most of all we are proud of the friendship we had with him. We along with all of his friends throughout the world miss him.

This award carries a special significance because of the great importance of good sportsmanship, the selection process, and most of all by the name the trophy has inscribed on its base... PAUL HAHN.

Our 2022 Paul Hahn award winner, from Perrysburg, Ohio's Jack Weisenburger. Jack was voted this award by his peers at the TJGA Invitational. We congratulate him! Well deserved.


Paul Hahn                                                                                                Avery Watson



1974 - Jim Decker
1975 - Judd Silverman
1976 - Steve Schaff
1977 - Tim Hirt
1978 - John Spengler
1979 - Dick Thornhill
1980 - B. J. Claus
1981 - B. J. Claus
1982 - B. J. Claus
1983 - Brian Jorris
1984 - Dick Connelly
1985 - Dick Connelly
1986 - John Connelly
1987 - Mike Spencer
1988 - Mike Spencer
1989 - Jon Whithaus
1990 - Matt Beckett
1991 - Matt Beckett
1992 - John Bachman
1993 - Amy Langhals
1994 - Jeff Hunt 1995 - Scott Brinker, Jeff Hunt
1996 - Milton Carswell, Jr.
1997 - Milton Carswell, Jr.
1998 - BJ Pitzen
1999 - Mark Bixler
2000 - Mike Guerrero

2001 - Dan McIntyre
2002- Ross Lingenfelder
2003- Jeff Blank
2004- John Powers
2005- John Powers
2006- John Powers
2007- Chase Yacko
2008- Kurt Kincaid
2009- Kevin Hoyle
2010- Reed Silverman
2011- Nicholas Graf
2012 - Denny Brown Jr.
2013 - Nicholas Graf
2014 - Nicholas Graf
2015 - Ben Kimmet
2016 - Justin Schnebelen
2017 - Patrick Yost
2018 - Patrick Yost
2019 - Mason Deal
2020 - Mason Deal
2021 - Avery Watson
2022 - Jack Weisenberger